Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.


York Bowen: Phantasie-Quintet for bass clarinet and string quartet d-molli op. 93
Béla Bartók: String Quartet no. 3
Ludwig van Beethoven: Sextet for two horns and string quartet in E flat major op. 81b

Tapio Liukkonen, bass clarinet
Hannes Kaukoranta & Mervi Huttunen, horn
Marjaana Holva & Juha Viljanen violin
Helinä Nissi, viola
Larimatti Punelpuro, cello

Spanning the centuries from the 18th to the 20th, this programme features augmentations of the traditional string quartet, adding a bass clarinet in Bowen’s Phantasie-Quintet – an interesting work full of shifting emotions and brilliant melodic writing – and two horns in the charming Sextet by Beethoven. These two works flank Bartók’s technically demanding and harmoniously adventurous String Quartet no. 3.

The length of the concert is approx. 1 h. No intermission.

The Sibelius Museum
3.3. 14:00
23.00 € | 18.00 € | 9.00 €