Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.

La dolce vita

Julian Rachlin, conductor
Sarah McElravy, viola

Ludwig van Beethoven: Coriolan Overture
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante
Felix Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 4 ”Italian”

Conducted by Julian Rachlin, the new Principal Guest Conductor of the Turku Philharmonic, this concert is a programme bubbling with joy, lovely melodies and romance. Beethoven’s dramatic Coriolanus Overture was written for the eponymous play about a Roman nobleman who mounts a desperate attack against his own city. Mozart’s Sinfonia concertante is a brilliant showcase for violin and viola, here performed by Rachlin himself and Sarah McElravy, with turns both wistful and buoyant. Mendelssohn’s ‘Italian’ Symphony transports us to the Mediterranean, where the sun shines in a blue sky, art and architecture flourish and a sprightly saltarello is danced in the countryside.

The length of the concert is approx. 2 h.



Price 21.00 / 16.00 / 9.00 €