Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.

Music with the masters

Johannes Brahms: String Quartet no. 1 in C minor op. 51
Felix Mendelssohn: String Quartet no. 2 in A minor op. 13

Matti Koponen (programme planner) & Susanna Suorttanen, violin
Jouni Rissanen, viola
Roi Ruottinen, cello

The first chamber music concert of the spring features two classic German string quartet gems from the Romantic era. Brahms considered the string quartet an important genre and rewrote his first venture several times before publishing it at the age of 40. Mendelssohn’s quartet, by contrast, reflects the energy and passion of the composer at age 18. There are subtle references to the influence of Beethoven, who died around the same time.

The length of the concert is approx. 1,5 h.

Turku Castle
27.1. 15:00
23.00 € | 18.00 € | 9.00 €