Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.

Oh bliss

Jukka Iisakkila, conductor
Tomas Nuñez-Garcés, cello

Modest Mussorgsky: Overture from the opera Khovanshchina
Aki Yli-Salomäki: Oh bliss, concerto for cello and orchestra (world premiere, soloist performs in this piece)
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov: Sheherazade

Flamboyant pieces by Russian composers frame a cello concerto. Rimsky-Korsakov was inspired by the Tales of the Arabian Nights to write Sheherazade; he also completed Mussorgsky’s opera Khovanshchina after the latter’s death. Aki Yli-Salomäki’s new work is music of beauty, sensitivity and joy. Cast in three movements, it is an exploration of time and space in music and of aesthetical experiences and sonority. The soloist is Tomas Nuñez-Garcés.

The length of the concert is approx. 2 h.



Price 21.00 / 16.00 / 9.00 €