Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.


Jonathan Berman, conductor
Jasmine Beams, viola

Magnus Lindberg: Chorale
Miklós Rózsa: Concerto for viola and orchestra
Robert Schumann: Symphony No. 2

The viola is showcased to good effect in the dark, Hungarian tones of the music of Miklós Rózsa, drawing on folk music with an edge. The soloist in this concert is the orchestra’s own principal viola, Californian-born Jasmine Beams. The viola concerto is bookended by two works inspired by or referring to Bach: Lindberg’s Chorale, based on Bach’s ‘Es ist genug’, and Schumann’s Second Symphony, where the theme of the Scherzo is based on the pitches that in German notation spell out the name BACH (B flat, A, C, B natural).

The lenght of the concert is approx. 2 h


Price 21.00 / 16.00 / 9.00 €