Adjust text size:
25.10. 19:00

Iiro & Amadeus

Iiro Rantala, piano and conductor

Iiro Rantala: Pekka Pohjola
Iiro Rantala: Karma, Anyone with a heart, Freedom
Einojuhani Rautavaara: Fiddlers op. 1
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto no. 21 in C major KV 467
Iiro Rantala: Tears for Esbjörn, Happy Hippo, Hard Score

Iiro meets Amadeus! Known principally as a jazz musician, Iiro Rantala presents a concert programme bursting with joy and energy and amalgamating various genres. The programme is bookended by jazz piano works written by Rantala, with arrangements for strings by Teppo Ali-Mattila. Rautavaara’s archaic-sounding Fiddlers is a piano suite based on fiddler tunes from the 18th century. Mozart’s technically challenging Piano Concerto no. 21 features solo cadenzas improvised by Rantala – just as Mozart used to do when performing his concertos in Vienna.

The length of the concert is approx. 2 h.