Adjust text size:

Only online concert: Violin celebration - honouring professor Tuomas Haapanen

Tuomas Rousi, conductor
Elina Vähälä, violin
Kreeta-Julia Heikkilä, violin
Petteri Iivonen, violin
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

Jean Sibelius: Andante festivo
Franz Schubert: Rondo in A major D. 438
Johann Sebastian Bach: Double Concerto
Joonas Kokkonen: Sinfonia da camera per 12 archi
Olli Mustonen: Triple Concerto for three violins and orchestra

This night for violinists opens with the ceremonial Andante festivo. Beethoven’s emotional romance is followed by Bach’s concerto casting two violinists in a dialogue. After Kokkonen’s work for 12 musicians, all three violin soloists join in a performance of Mustonen’s Triple Concerto. This programme is a tribute to the career of Professor Tuomas Haapanen, now 96, as a music educator, performing violinist and Rector of the Turku Music Institute and of the Sibelius Academy. The soloists are former students of Haapanen.

Turku Concert Hall
16.4. 19:00

The length of the concert is about 1 h 45 min. Intermission.