Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.


Leif Segerstam, conductor
Paavali Jumppanen, piano

Johannes Brahms: Tragic Overture
Leif Segerstam: Symphony Seriosa no. 311 ”FUNDEERAUKSIA…Ponderings” President Mauno Koivisto 12.5.2017 in memoriam with musical thoughts... (world premiere)
Johannes Brahms: Piano Concerto no. 2 in B flat major (soloist)

Leif Segerstam’s 74th-birthday concert opens with the Tragic Overture, stormy and passionate as befits its title. Brahms’s titanic B flat major Piano Concerto is performed by Paavali Jumppanen, one of the most actively performing and most successful Finnish pianists of his generation. Brahms played the solo part himself at the premiere in 1881, and the work was instantly acclaimed as a masterpiece. After the interval, the orchestra performs our Chief Conductor’s tribute
to the memory of the late President Mauno Koivisto, his Symphony no. 311.

The length of the concert is approx. 2,5 h.



Turku Concert Hall
2.3. 19:00
21.00 € | 16.00 € | 9.00 €