Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.

Romantic and modern

Olli Mustonen, conductor
Karen Gomyo, violin
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

Petr Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto in D major op. 35
Aaron Copland: Fanfare for the Common Man
Einojuhani Rautavaara: Playgrounds for Angels
Bohuslav Martinů: Double Concerto for two string orchestras, piano and timpani

Designed by Olli Mustonen, this programme is a display of pyrotechnics from start to finish. It begins with one of the most famous violin concertos of all time. Tchaikovsky’s masterpiece is performed by Karen Gomyo, praised for her sense of pulse and sound by the Globe and Mail, the most widely read newspaper in Canada. After the interval, a contrasting and complementary selection of 20th-century music completes the programme: the majestic A Fanfare for the Common Man, the demanding Playgrounds for Angels and the charming Double Concerto.

Safety instructions during coronavirus pandemic.

Turku Concert Hall
15.10. 19:00

The length of the concert is about 1 h 45 minutes. Intermission. 

27.50 € | 22.50 € | 10.50 €