Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.

Steamboat Bill Jr.

Maurice Ravel: Introduction and allegro for harp, flute, clarinet and string quartet
Magnus Lindberg: Steamboat Bill Jr. for clarinet and cello
Johannes Brahms: Piano Trio in B major op. 8 (1889 version)

Päivi Severeide, harp
Anu Honkanen, flute
Matteo Mastromarino, clarinet
Matti Koponen, violin
Jasmine Beams, violin
Helinä Nissi, viola
Larimatti Punelpuro, cello, programme planning
Matleena Nyman, piano

Magnus Lindberg’s amazing work Steamboat Bill Jr. is based on the eponymous classic silent comedy film by Buster Keaton. Combining a variety of styles and techniques, it showcases the flexibility of its composer, who describes performing this work as having to play chess in simultaneous moves. Ravel’s fantastically beautiful Introduction and allegro was commissioned by Pleyel instrument builders to display the capabilities of the chromatic harp. The afternoon concludes with Brahms’s breezy Piano Trio.

Turku Castle
20.9. 15:00

The length of the concert is about 1 h. No intermission.

25.00 € | 20.00 € | 10.00 €