Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.


Christian Kluxen, conductor
Georgy Tchaidze, piano

Thomas Adès: Dance Suite from the chamber opera Powder Her Face
Sergei Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto no. 3 in D minor op. 30
Carl Nielsen: Symphony no. 2 op. 16, ‘The Four Temperaments’

Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto no. 3 is a monolithic virtuoso work, one of the most demanding in its genre. Performed here with Georgy Tchaidze as soloist, it is flanked by works by Adès and Nielsen. Adès caused an uproar in 1995 with his chamber opera Powder Her Face, based on the scandalous life of the Duchess of Argyll. Nielsen’s symphony depicting the classical four temperaments – choleric, phlegmatic, melancholic and sanguine – concludes the programme.

The length of the concert is approx. 2 h.


Turku Concert Hall
14.2. 19:00
23.00 € | 18.00 € | 9.00 €