Adjust text size:
28.9. 19:00


Julian Rachlin, conductor
Jian Wang, cello

Mikhail Glinka: Overture from the opera Ruslan and Lyudmila op 5.
Antonín Dvořák: Cello Concerto in B minor op. 104
Pyotr Tchaikovsky: Symphony no. 4 in F minor op. 36

Julian Rachlin, the orchestra’s Principal Guest Conductor, treats Turku audiences to a powerful helping of Slavic music. Dvořák’s Cello Concerto is described as the best Romantic cello concerto of all, and it is certainly one of the most frequently performed works for cello, rich in texture and compelling in its melodic vein. The memorable solo part is performed here by Chinese cellist Jian Wang. Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony is a tumultuous portrait of destiny that prevents happiness. The composer regarded it as one of his best works.

The length of the concert is approx. 2 h.