Adjust text size:

Julian Rachlin continues Beethovens 250th anniversary

Julian Rachlin, conductor and violin
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

Ludwig van Beethoven: Septet in E flat major op. 20
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony no. 5 in C minor op. 67

Da-da-da-dah! “Thus Fate knocks at the door,” said Beethoven of the theme that has gone on to become perhaps the most famous in all of Western classical music. Captivating from its very first bars, Beethoven’s tempestuous Fifth Symphony continues to fascinate listeners two centuries after it was written. Beethoven’s Septet is a chamber music work for seven musicians, performed by our Principal Guest Conductor Julian Rachlin with Turku Philharmonic principals. The two works represent opposite ends of the emotional scale and constitute a harmonious whole in a programme continuing our celebration of the 250th anniversary of Beethoven’s birth.