Adjust text size:
8.4. 19:00

Only online concert: Humoresques

Jaana Haanterä conductor
Adrian Ibañez-Resjan, violin
Turku  Philharmonic Orchestra

Jouni Kaipainen: North by North-East op. 63
Jean Sibelius: Six Humoresques opp. 87 & 89
Jean Sibelius: Symphony no. 6 in D minor op. 104

Sibelius’s Humoresques captivate the listener with their agility and wide range of expression. They are performed by Turku-born violinist Adrian Ibañez-Resjan. Sibelius’s Sixth is the most lucid and purely classical of his seven symphonies and provides an admirable contrast to the Humoresques. The programme opens with North by North-East, an evocation of the rugged environment of the far North. The conductor is Jaana Haanterä, who has created a prominent career as both a conductor and a violinist.